Welcome new members. If you have been recently invited to join our forum, welcome.
Please take a few minutes to introduce yourself at The Meeting Room / General Discussions / Introduce yourself

Things CritiqueUsing lighting for the first time

Images of inanimate objects; furniture, food & beverage, appliances, gadgets, electronics, apparel, jewelry
Jade Walker
Mentoris Novus
Mentoris Novus
Social Media Opt-In: Yes
Editing option: No, please do not edit my images

Using lighting for the first time

Post by Jade Walker »

Hi all,

This is my first time here, I am a friend of John's. I currently write recipes for my own website jadewalker.com.au and have just been employed to write recipes for another website. I want to take my photos to the next level (and not always have to depend on natural light) so here is my first shot (without John by my side) with a softbox and harder light.

In my practice run today I had a little frustration avoiding some dark vignetting with the shutter speed and aperture I wanted. I soon rectified this.
My own critiques would be
- The lighting doesn't quite have the sunny beachy feel I was going for.
- The highlights are a little hot to the top left
- Focus isn't quite right in a couple of images
- I'm unure on the white balance after staring at them for so long
- Need to be careful of the reflection in sunglasses

Your CC is so warmly welcomed!

Jade
Attachments
_MG_9938 small.jpg
_MG_9938 small.jpg (243.75 KiB) Viewed 1124 times
_MG_9931 small.jpg
_MG_9931 small.jpg (149.37 KiB) Viewed 1124 times
_MG_9928 small.jpg
_MG_9928 small.jpg (258.57 KiB) Viewed 1124 times

TomCofer
Key Founding Member
Key Founding Member
Editing option: Yes, feel free to edit my image

Post by TomCofer »

Welcome Jade!
Colorful shots.
Redneck Enthusiast Photographer on a shoestring budget.

thcofer@charter.net

Failure means you tried. Success means you need to set higher goals for yourself.

Duck
Key Founding Member
Key Founding Member